Nominate a Teacher! — October 10, 2018

Nominate a Teacher!

October 10, 2018

OTTAWA:  Jim Eglinski, Member of Parliament for Yellowhead, is pleased to invite local residents to nominate a teacher for the Prime Minister’s Awards for Teaching Excellence. These awards honour outstanding and innovative elementary and secondary school teachers for their remarkable educational achievements and for their commitment to preparing their students for a digital and innovation‑based economy.

There are two streams:

The Prime Minister’s Awards for Teaching Excellence in STEM – These awards recognize inspirational Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) teachers at the elementary or secondary school level who keep students engaged in STEM learning and who help develop the culture of innovation that Canada needs today, and in the future.

The Prime Minister’s Awards for Excellence in Early Childhood Education – These awards honor outstanding and innovative early childhood educators for their leadership, exemplary early childhood education practices, and their commitment to help build the foundation children need to make the best possible start in life.

Award recipients and their schools could receive cash awards worth up to $5,000 and national recognition for their contribution to excellence in education in Canada.

The deadline to submit a nomination is January 14, 2019.

“Teachers invest so much into our children and our communities. I encourage local residents to nominate an outstanding educator from their community who has made a real difference in their life, or the life of one of their children,” concluded MP Eglinski.

For more information for the STEM stream:

For more information for the Early Childhood Education stream:


Comments are closed.